Cable TV Pioneers Select Class of 2017

51st Annual Induction Ceremony To Precede Opening of SCTE/ISBE Cable-Tec Expo

Phoenix, AZ — The Cable TV Pioneers will induct 20 new members during its banquet to be held at the Brown Palace in Denver, CO on Tuesday, October 17, 2017.

In making the announcement, Cable TV Pioneer Chair Susan Bitter Smith stated, “Just as our industry grows broader and more robust, so do the number of nominees for the Cable Pioneers. It’s obvious from this year’s class that our membership consists of men and women who make significant contributions to the growth of our industry and our communities.”

Dinner Chair Dave Fellows said, “Change means growth, and celebrating this year’s induction in Denver, prior to the annual SCTE/ISBE Cable-Tec Expo, is one of the many ways we are adapting and growing. We believe our 51st Banquet will have a significant attendance and provide sponsors with a wonderful opportunity to participate in one of the top events of the industry this year.”

The 2017 Cable TV Pioneers Class

Tom Adams

Matthew Blank

Steve Brett

Jack Bryant

Cynthia Carpenter

John Chapman

Anne Cowan

Chris Dunkeson

Jana Fay

Charlotte Field

Tony Finger

James George

Tim Gropp

Larry Hanson

Dale Hopkins

Debra Lee

Sean McGrail

Ron McMillan

Jay Vaughan

Richard White

Charter Communications

Showtime Networks, Inc.

GCI Liberty Corp.


Charter Communications



Comcast Corporation


Charter Communications


American Cable Services


Ambit Project Management




Time Warner (Retired)

DSV Services



Information on the upcoming banquet can be found at The site features details on sponsorship packages including cocktail reception, dinner and after-glow as well as other custom and specialty programs especially created for the event. (Interested sponsors can directly contact Lisza Gulyas at 303.527.2929 The site also contains early ticket information and will be updated to reflect new information leading up to the banquet. Photos, articles and video of the 50th Anniversary celebrations are available at the site.

The Cable Pioneer celebration will be held on Tuesday night October 17, 2017 the night before SCTE/ISBE Cable-Tec Expo, which will be held at the Colorado Convention Center October 17-20.


About the Cable TV Pioneers

The Cable TV Pioneers was founded in 1966 during the NCTA convention in Miami, Fla. The original fledgling group of 21 entrepreneurs has grown to more than 700 men and women over the past 50 years. Photos, articles and video of the 50th Anniversary celebration and banquets as well as member rosters are available at the site.

Share this post!